View 2019 Symposium sessions

The second annual CSU Spur Water in the West Symposium at the Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center in Aurora sold out with more than 350 attendees, and showcased speakers from across the state and nation to dive deep into water issues affecting the western region, and to explore innovative solutions to water challenges across sectors.

Every year, this event mirrors programing and conversations that will be ongoing at CSU Spur. Please click the hyperlinks below to view video of the sessions.


Spur MarkCreated with Sketch.

5:30 P.M.

Symposium kick-off + reception

THURSDAY, NOV. 7, 2019

Spur MarkCreated with Sketch.

9 A.M.

Welcome + Land Acknowledgement [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Jocelyn Hittle — Colorado State University System
Tyrone Smith — Colorado State University

9:10 A.M.

Opening remarks [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Tony Frank — Colorado State University System
Secretary Tom Vilsack — Colorado State University System

9:30 A.M.

Walter Robb — Stonewall Robb Advisors

10 A.M.

Colorado Solutions [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Jim Lochhead — Denver Water
Becky Mitchell — Colorado Water Conservation Board

10:30 A.M.

Solutions in Finance and Funding [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Moderator: Beth Walker — Colorado State University
Matt McKenna — Georgetown University
Russell Schnitzer — Gates Family Foundation
Winston Yu — International Water Management Institute

11:30 A.M.

Lunch + remarks [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Happy Haynes — Deputy Mayor of Denver

1 P.M.

Solutions in Recreation and the Environment [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Moderator: Andy Schultheiss — Colorado Water Trust
Christina Burri — Denver Water
Michael Connor — WilmerHale
Nancy Smith — The Nature Conservancy

2 P.M.

Solutions in Data and Technology [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Moderator: Reagan Waskom — Colorado State University
Jay Ham — Colorado State University
Claudia Ringler — International Food Policy Research Institute

3 P.M.

Solutions in Food, Beverage, and Agriculture [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Moderator: Kate Greenberg — Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture
Jon Alby — Leprino Foods Company
Marc Arnusch — Arnusch Farms
Katie Wallace — New Belgium Brewing

4 P.M.

Afternoon remarks [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Dan Gibbs — Colorado Department of Natural Resources

4:15 P.M.

Secretary’s Dialogue: Solutions in Sustainability [WATCH THIS SESSION]
Moderator: Secretary Tom Vilsack — Colorado State University System
Jason Curl — Jacobs Engineering Group
Bruce Karas — Coca-Cola North America

5 P.M.

Closing remarks
Secretary Tom Vilsack — Colorado State University System

5:15 P.M.


Thank you to our 2019 sponsors


Colorado Dairy Farmers logo

Supporting SPONSORS

Contributing SPONSORS


Additional SPONSORs